21 Jan 2015

Reviews Gallore for THE LUCK OF THE WEISSENSTEINERS

4 Comments Book Reviews, News

THE LUCK OF THE WEISSENSTEINERSThe recent promotion for “The Luck of the Weissensteiners” is already showing some encouraging effects. I had braced myself for a swarm of trolls (as can be a side-effect of such promotions) but reviews and follow-on sales are pretty positive.

Fellow writers, I  can only recommend BookBub and freebies.

Here are some of the latest reviews for the book.

5.0 out of 5 stars This book was very good, January 19, 2015
By
Carol
Verified Purchase
This was an interesting story, unlike other stories of WW2…The Jewish people lived thru a lot of pain, sad, but the characters in this book were optimistic and very lovable...

4.0 out of 5 stars More like a documentary than a story., January 19, 2015
By
Verified Purchase 
I mainly enjoyed this book for the information, but would rather it have been a “story”. It seems the author left it to the epilogue to “tell the rest of the story”.
5.0 out of 5 stars The Luck of the Weissensteiners – a different view of the Holocaust Era, January 19, 2015
By
Super Steve “Steve” (Middlesex Co, New Jersey) –
Verified Purchase
I just finished reading The Luck of the Weissensteiners by Christoph Fischer and found it to be a bit long but very intriguing and most worthwhile read. Having read several books related to the European World War II period (i.e., 1930’s thru 1940’s), many of which dealt with the Concentration Camps, I found this most unique, as it dealt fully with people who were never interred.

While the horrors of the Concentration Camps need to be known and never repeated, so true is conditions and problems experienced by those who were not condemned to the Camps. This story takes place largely in the Sudetenland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Austria regions where both Jews and non-Jews suffered under the perils of the Third Reich and its sympathizers. The hiding, the politics, the lack of food, the discrimination, the distrust, and the outright fear of rescue by the Red Army are all part of the issues of the period, and seemingly well depicted in this novel.

Highly recommend for a different view and appreciation of the period.

This book is part of the Three Nations Trilogy set, and while I have purchased the second and third, I have not read as of yet.

 5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative, January 19, 2015
By
Hunter S. Jones (Atlanta, GA) –
Verified Purchase
The Luck Of The Weissensteiners by Christoph Fischer is an epic historical fiction saga. The narrative focuses on the struggles of a Jewish family and offers insight into Central Europe, Slovakia, one family and the region’s involvement in WWII. There are diverse characters who are the victims of racial politics. The history of the era is brought to life in this book. It is very well researched and documented. Author Christoph Fischer is so talented. It is difficult to believe this is his first book. This story will stay with you and make you think.
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine making life-altering decisions based on rumors…, January 18, 2015
Verified Purchase
Ooh, I love when a book starts out with a map!

It was a bit of a slow start, but once I entered chapter two I was hooked. I was totally drawn into the lives of Greta and Wilhelm, which started out as a cute love story between a Jewish girl and a German boy.

It was your typical teenage love story until the push-pull of the political climate got in the way as Hitler rose to power. And then came the heartbreak of watching propoganda tear families apart.

This took place on the fringes of the war rather than in the heart of battle, but always the reaper hovered nearby, blowing whispers of danger into your ear. These whispers triggered life-and-death decisions, not knowing which way to go, what action to take, when the wrong choice would plunge you into a hell beyond imagining.

A mysterious benefactress. Rumors that send you running in one direction, only to encounter more rumors that send you back from whence you came. Rumors of terror, rumors of hope… and all of your decisions rely solely on rumors.

My favorite quote: “Half of life is a confidence trick.”

Second favorite: “Even if you have done good deeds for the wrong reasons, they were still good deeds.”

I learned from this book, and it had me looking up things on the internet out of curiosity. That’s always a plus. I’d heard of Slovenia, Slovakia, and Czechoslovakia, but I did not realize that Czech, and Slovakia, were two separate countries that were united for awhile, and then split apart again.

The world is ever-changing. Countries that I grew up learning about in school no longer exist. And new countries appear on the maps regularly. Humans are a restless species.

As a kid, I collected colorful stamps from around the world, and I was a cat lover. So countries like Abyssinia, Persia, Burma, and Siam were close to my heart for the beautiful cats that bore their names.

I once knew the names of so many countries through stamp collecting, but now many of those countries no longer exist. Humans play tug-of-war with country names and borders.

We think of history as something that happened a long time ago. But every year, history is being created anew, for some future generation to read about in a book. Things that we take for granted, and places that we hold dear, may not exist in fifty years except as a memory.

Luck of the Weissensteiners so poignantly highlights the truth of many religious teachings, that your belongings aren’t going to follow you into an afterlife, and they may not even remain with you in this life. They are expendable, and one bad turn can take them away.

It’s better to focus your energy on something that matters in this world, something that you can leave behind as a legacy. Maybe it’s a love of nature, or an endangered species. Maybe your purpose is to help children, or dogs, or cats, or tree frogs. Maybe you are here to spread joy to others in everyday encounters. Maybe you create art that will live long after. Maybe you support someone else in one of these endeavors. Maybe you simply help the world turn.

As long as whatever you do contributes something positive instead of just taking away for the me-me-me, then you can leave this world proud.

Excellent book!

3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, January 18, 2015
By
a morgan (LEANDER, TEXAS, US) –
Verified Purchase
This is an ok book but more for the reader who likes reading about political issues and historical facts of war. It is more of a documentary. I wanted more of a story, interaction between the characters, there was some but I couldn’t get attached to them.

cover-under constructionThe book will soon be part of a discounted box set: At Odds with Destiny

Kindle: http://BookShow.me/B00SHYGG7C/

Nook http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/at-odds-with-destiny-uvi-poznansky/1121088493?ean=2940151687607

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id959421650

Kobo http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/at-odds-with-destiny

Smashwords  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/511673

 

The Luck of the Weissensteiners (Three Nations Trilogy Book 1)

In the sleepy town of Bratislava in 1933 a romantic girl falls for a bookseller from Berlin. Greta Weissensteiner, daughter of a Jewish weaver, slowly settles in with the Winkelmeier clan just as the developments in Germany start to make waves in Europe and re-draws the visible and invisible borders. The political climate in the multifaceted cultural jigsaw puzzle of disintegrating Czechoslovakia becomes more complex and affects relations between the couple and the families. The story follows them through the war with its predictable and also its unexpected turns and events and the equally hard times after.
But this is no ordinary romance; in fact it is not a romance at all, but a powerful, often sad, Holocaust story. What makes The Luck of the Weissensteiners so extraordinary is the chance to consider the many different people who were never in concentration camps, never in the military, yet who nonetheless had their own indelible Holocaust experiences. This is a wide-ranging, historically accurate exploration of the connections between social location, personal integrity and, as the title says, luck.

On Amazon:  http://smarturl.it/Weissensteiners
On Goodreads: http://bit.ly/12Rnup8
On Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1bua395
Trailer: http://studio.stupeflix.com/v/OtmyZh4Dmc/?autoplay=1
B&N  http://ow.ly/Btvas

Short Biography:

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small hamlet, not far from Bath.  He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and The Black Eagle Inn in October 2013. “Time To Let Go” , his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions” in October 2014. His medical thriller “The Healer” was released in January 2015.

He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: http://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

written by
Christoph Fischer was born in Germany in 1970 as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ is his first published work. He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

4 Responses to “Reviews Gallore for THE LUCK OF THE WEISSENSTEINERS”

  1. M.C.V. Egan says:

    I love, Love, Love this book!

  2. Teagan says:

    Kudos, Christoph! You’re on fire!
    Book Bub, huh? I really should check that out. Gosh… there are so many things that i “really should” investigate or learn. How to add more hours to the work week? LOL. Huge hugs. 😀

    • CBook5901 says:

      Thanks. Many people worry about the initial cost but the follow on sales can help make your money back.
      But I agree, so much to do, and so little time. I have along list of areas to explore and doubt I’ll ever get round to most of them.
      Thanks for popping in as always, and huge hugs!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: