19 Mar 2015

Review: “I quickly identified with the fragile SEBASTIAN”

Comments Off on Review: “I quickly identified with the fragile SEBASTIAN” Book Reviews, News
178348085.0 out of 5 stars Great! Splitting of Europe told in the personal, March 4, 2015

This review is from: Sebastian (The Three Nations Trilogy) (Paperback)

I was a sickly child and I could have lost my leg through gangrene, aged 10-11, so I quickly identified with the fragile Sebastian. His fear and suspicion of doctors resonated deeply, as did his love of books and his self-imposed reclusiveness. Full marks to the author for penning such an engaging character but he doesn’t stop there.Hospital 1.2

The cast is big and the story sweeping. It reminds me of War and Peace and many other 70s serials like The Sullivans and The Pallisers for its subtle thread, twisting back and forth, up and down, though the disparate lives that are thrust together by poverty, hardship and war.

If you want a really engaging picture of Europe breaking apart at the turn of the Century, you could read a dry history book but you could read Christopher Fischer’s lovely tale, which is just shy of an epic. If you love people, I would recommend the latter choice because Fischer understands the subtle tapestry of family relationships like few other writers.Sebastian 3

I wondered how the story of the hapless Margit would end and was delighted by the weird conclusion, which oh-so-subtly mirrors the loose-end aspects of war.

I haven’t read the first book in this series but I didn’t need to; this book is very complete in itself. I have lent it to others, who were itching to have a go.

I thoroughly recommend this book, whether you are interested in the demise of the Habsburgs or just want a darned good yarn about people.

5.0 out of 5 stars Another Vienna hospitalmasterpiece!, February 4, 2015
I cannot believe it, but this book was better than the first. What an amazing story…. with amazing characters, even if they are frustrating at times. This book was an absolute joy to read, and if I had the time, I never would have put it down. I am actually sad that I am done with it now.
vienna colourSebastian 8

Sebastian (Three Nations Trilogy Book 2) download (5)

Sebastian is the story of a young man who has his leg amputated before World War I. When his father is drafted to the war it falls on to him to run the family grocery store in Vienna, to grow into his responsibilities, bear loss and uncertainty and hopefully find love.
Sebastian Schreiber, his extended family, their friends and the store employees experience the ‘golden days’ of pre-war Vienna and the timed of the war and the end of the Monarchy while trying to make a living and to preserve what they hold dear.
Fischer convincingly describes life in Vienna during the war, how it affected the people in an otherwise safe and prosperous location, the beginning of the end for the Monarchy, the arrival of modern thoughts and trends, the Viennese class system and the end of an era.
As in the first part of the trilogy, “The Luck of The Weissensteiners” we are confronted again with themes of identity, Nationality and borders. The step back in time made from Book 1 and the change of location from Slovakia to Austria enables the reader to see the parallels and the differences deliberately out of the sequential order. This helps to see one not as the consequence of the other, but to experience them as the momentary reality as it must have felt for the people at the time.

On Amazon: http://smarturl.it/TNTSeb

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/528300

On Goodreads: http://ow.ly/pthHZ

On Facebook: http://ow.ly/pthNy

Trailer: http://studio.stupeflix.com/v/95jvSpHf5a/

B&N http://ow.ly/Btvbw

My other historical fiction:

The Luck of the Weissensteiners (Three Nations Trilogy Book 1) AMAZON: http://smarturl.it/Weissensteiners
SMASHWORDS: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/527811

(currently part of a multi-author $0.99 Box set: AT ODDS WITH DESTINY http://BookShow.me/B00SHYGG7C/)

The Black Eagle Inn (Three Nations Trilogy Book 3): http://smarturl.it/TBEI

IN SEARCH OF A REVOLUTION http://smarturl.it/SearchofRevolution

CHRISTOPH FISCHER 922159_10151345337037132_1303709604_o

Short Biography:

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small hamlet, not far from Bath.  He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and The Black Eagle Inn in October 2013. “Time To Let Go” , his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions” in October 2014. His medical thriller “The Healer” was released in January 2015.

He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: http://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

written by
Christoph Fischer was born in Germany in 1970 as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ is his first published work. He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: