21 Feb 2015

More great reviews for medical thriller “The Healer”

4 Comments News
healer cover for kindleLast week saw a spike in new and rather amazing reviews for THE HEALER. 
A very happy moment of excitement and gratitude!
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching thriller that raises many profound questions., February 21, 2015
Verified Purchase
This book is a medical thriller and the story is very engaging and interesting. It is about Erica, a young woman diagnosed with an advanced stage of pancreatic cancer. She is surprised to find her closest friend in her secretary whom she never truly appreciated before. This woman gives Erica some tips on alternative medicine. Erica’s last hope becomes a famous healer, but her journey is more complicated than it seems at first sight. The healer does not practice anymore. In addition, he commands complete surrender from his patients — both emotionally and financially. While his fees may seem outrageous, he lives frugally and supports orphans in Africa. He is a typical guru with a huge ego, but he is also surprisingly humble at some moments. Nothing is as it may seem.

It is difficult to say more without giving spoilers, so let me just mention some themes instead of saying what exactly will happen. There is a conflict between alternative medicine and pharmaceutical industry. There is also a conflict between science and hope. While the patient is going through a dramatic transformation, so is her healer. He demonstrates a classical utilitarian conflict between his personal calling and a chance to do a greater good for a greater number by abandoning his mission and his unique gift. While the woman agrees to face her inner demons, this does not mean that she must win. Her healer seems to be at peace with himself and the world, but there seems to be a dark side to him as well. We learn some haunting secrets about his past, as the story unfolds. His future turns out to be equally surprising.

This is the first book by Christopher Fischer that I have read and I am truly impressed. It is much more than just a thrilling story. I will definitely read more books from this author.

5.0 out of 5 stars I’m kind of in shock, February 18, 2015

This review is from: The Healer (Kindle Edition)
As someone going through illness and chemotherapy myself, the author’s description and innate understanding of the desperation I feel completely gripped me. There were moments where I had to sit back and just absorb it all in, I could envision myself in the lead character’s position so completely.

The story itself is wonderful – it kept me riveted and looking forward to my morning commutes where I could pick up my Kindle and read more, even to the point of being ‘that’ person on the escalator, obliviously absorbed in a book and knocking other commuters nearly off the platform (erm, sorry!).

Add that to the jaw drop of a last line in the book and this is sure to be one that I will always, always remember.  Healer book

5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, February 17, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Healer (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those cannot put it down type of reads for me. The story was really interesting and touching at the same time. Definitely recommend this one by Christoph Fischer. I will look for more titles by this author in the future as well.
 Prayer-can-Heal-2
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable!, February 17, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Healer (Kindle Edition)
Erica, a single woman who’s full of life, suddenly learns that her life is being cut short by pancreatic cancer. She’s tried the treatments and the drugs, but with little hope. With little to lose, Erica seeks out a man who has healed people in the past. The man has one request: half of her assets. And then the treatments begin.

Erica is a wonderful character. She’s so full of life that any reader will fall in love with her and sympathize with her illness and determination. Unlike so many people, she realizes that her past is finally catching up to her and that she’s responsible for her illness. Also unlike so many cancer patients, Erica is willing to take a risk, to try an unorthodox treatment that has cured others. She’s brave, determined, and strong. She’s truly and admirable character who will endear herself to any reader.

This novel is heavy on dialog with little scenes. Otherwise, it’s an enjoyable novel!

5.0 out of 5 stars The Thriller, February 16, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Healer (Kindle Edition)
The Healer by Christoph Fischer hit me at such an emotional level. When Erica discovers that her pancreatic cancer is at Stage 4, she turns to Arpan, a Welsh recluse who heals through his hands and a secret elixir of his own divining. The story takes you on a wild ride. This is a brilliant medical thriller. Hat’s off to Mr. Fischer for another well written book. His skills as a story teller are very advanced. The character development in The Healer is perfection and the story line is fantastic, with plots and subplots that will keep you enthralled until The End.

The Healer


When advertising executive Erica Whittaker is diagnosed with terminal cancer, western medicine fails her. The only hope left for her to survive is controversial healer Arpan. She locates the man whose touch could heal her but finds he has retired from the limelight and refuses to treat her.  Erica, consumed by stage four pancreatic cancer, is desperate and desperate people are no longer logical nor are they willing to take no for an answer. Arpan has retired for good reasons, casting more than the shadow of a doubt over his abilities. So begins a journey that will challenge them both as the past threatens to catch up with him as much as with her.  Can he really heal her? Can she trust him with her life? And will they both achieve what they set out to do before running out of time?

Amazon: http://smarturl.it/thehealerthriller

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheHealerNovelbyChristophFischer?ref=hl

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23662030-the-healer

Book-likes: http://booklikes.com/the-healer-christoph-fischer/book,12975746

Rifflebooks: https://read.rifflebooks.com/books/388235

CHRISTOPH FISCHER 922159_10151345337037132_1303709604_o

Short Biography:

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small hamlet, not far from Bath.  He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and The Black Eagle Inn in October 2013. “Time To Let Go” , his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions” in October 2014. His medical thriller “The Healer” was released in January 2015.

He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: http://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

written by
Christoph Fischer was born in Germany in 1970 as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ is his first published work. He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

4 Responses to “More great reviews for medical thriller “The Healer””

  1. Teagan says:

    Excellent, Christoph! Well deserved good reviews. Hugs.

  2. P.C. Zick says:

    Congratulations. Next in my queue to read.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: