09 Apr 2015

“Gripping Personal Breakdown”: Reviews for mental health drama “Conditions”

Comments Off on “Gripping Personal Breakdown”: Reviews for mental health drama “Conditions” Book Reviews, News, Review
Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews : 4.3 average star rating 1
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping personal breakdown, March 22, 2015
This review is from: Conditions (Kindle Edition)
Conditions is a very classy piece of work. A funeral brings together warring factions of a family and gradually reveals the soft underbelly of their seemingly privileged lives.Charles is a talented gardener; openly gay but with some kind of mental condition, which obscures his intentions and clouds the complex relationships which swirl around him. When his mother dies, his hetero brother and his wife close in for the kill on the vulnerable man but get more than they bargained for.Conditions examines people’s lives in minutiae and delicately lifts away the layers, beneath which we conceal our true natures. Christopher is the master of this revealing process and proved it with the broad sweep of Sebastian, but here it is much more personal and intimate. FunPhotoBox1142911044zyytrv

If you love stories about people rather less than places, ideas and things, then this is for you. I loved it and the twist only added to the joy of reading it! Highly Recommended!

5.0 out of 5 stars Another Christoph Fischer book that I enjoyed., April 1, 2015
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Conditions (Kindle Edition)
Another Christoph Fischer book that I enjoyed. From the beginning it was easy to find myself immersed in these seemingly mundane lives. I learned how to correctly breathe when walking for exercise. I had thought walking and breathing were second nature to me. Apparently not. And I felt as if I already knew some of the characters in the story, especially Charles and his mother, Rose.
mental-health-13594173
I also relate to the bad relationship between the various family members. Relationships are so complex, and wrought with ‘conditions’, and the author has blended them so easily. The story unfolds steadily and I appreciated how it panned out for those characters involved, nicely tying up all the ends. It’s written devoid of bad language and erotica, and that makes for a refreshing change when purchasing a book to read these days. So if it’s high adventure or titillation you are seeking, this book is not for you. I give it 5 stars!

Conditions 

When Charles and Tony’s mother dies the estranged brothers must struggle to pick up the pieces, particularly so given that one of them is mentally challenged and the other bitter about his place within the family.  The conflict is drawn out over materialistic issues, but there are ot her underlying problems which go to the heart of what it means to be part of a family which, in one way or another. has cast one aside. Prejudice, misconceptions and the human condition in all forms feature in this contemporary drama revolving around a group of people who attend the subsequent funeral at the British South Coast.  Meet flamboyant gardener Charles, loner Simon, selfless psychic Elaine, images (1)narcissistic body-builder Edgar, Martha and her version of unconditional love and many others as they try to deal with the event and its aftermath.

On Facebook: http://ow.ly/C0ZqX

On Amazon: http://smarturl.it/CONDITIONSCFF

On Goodreads: http://ow.ly/C0Ziw

 

CHRISTOPH FISCHER

Short Biography:922159_10151345337037132_1303709604_o

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small hamlet, not far from Bath.  He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and The Black Eagle Inn in October 2013. “Time To Let Go” , his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions” in October 2014. His medical thriller “The Healer” was released in January 2015.

He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: http://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

written by
Christoph Fischer was born in Germany in 1970 as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ is his first published work. He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: