26 Dec 2014

50 Reviews for Conditions – THANK YOU!

4 Comments Book Reviews, News

I’m delighted to announce the 50th review for CONDITIONS – the book has ratings from 1 – 5 stars – here are some quotes from the latest ones.

Thanks to ALL READERS AND REVIEWERS, good and bad, for sharing your thoughts and taking the time to let others know about it. 

Full of wonderfully vivid, real-life characters, this novel was almost a revelation in the sense how well it reflected the human nature of such deeply rooted conflicts as inheritance. On the surface Charles and Tony cannot agree on material matters upon their mother’s death, but of course it is much deeper than it seems. The issues the estranged brothers face go back years and decades, into their childhood and the family interactions, the burdens each one carries. FunPhotoBox1142911039tjldxh
The others that surrounding Charles in a sort of protective ring are as fascinating, as diverse, each a story in itself. Abusive relationship, family troubles, mental illness and much, much more is faced in this novel of contemporary drama, a wonderful story many of us could relate on a different level. I highly recommend!
*****

Fischer is great at dialogue. All in all it is a good contemporary drama read.
*****
Not great, but something no one would have seen just a few years ago. This book starts with a brother and his wife who are resentful of his mother seeming to favor an autistic son. The story then goes on to explore members of both sides who gather for the mother’s funeral. This is when it got confusing and profound.

I particularly liked the pros and cons of tarot reading, the ill-fated reconciliation of a wife and her abusive husband and the confrontation between the brother and wife at his meeting his brother’s psychiatric guardian. The book finishes without tying up loose ends, but makes us readers better understand and think about them.

The number of characters proves confusing. I don’t know how good writers have a way of keeping all this straight for readers. I find that particularly important with Kindle since it is hard to go back and check. On the other hand big publishers would not have ventured into subjects of autism, brother resenting brother, abusive relationships, bullying. Times have changed. Books have changed. We are better off than ever before for reading them.

Jack Lehman, www.RosebudBookReviews.com PhotoFunia-1407153c

*****
This is a great piece of work. Fischer takes a stigmatized topic and creates a story around it that absorbs our interest completely.

No-one really understands mental illness truly besides those who suffer from it, leaving outsiders to doubt whether someone is really suffering from such an illness at all. This is the case presented with Tony and Charles. After their mother’s death they are forced to come together, but this stirs up bad feelings rooted in the past.

Tony had always resented and had been jealous of Charles because Charles got all the attention from their mother due to his illness, that which Tony thinks to be fake. As we progress however his wife reprimands him of believing this and soon Tony’s mind toward his brother and condition change.

Charles is a charming character and the level of depth put into him makes me feel as if I am already friends with him. Hearing the tale from his side we find out many things about him including the fact that he has stronger morals than expected.
 PhotoFunia-1406d965
“Conditions” is an delightful novel that enlightens us about such a sensitive subject few choose to talk about.

Highly recommended.

****

The saga of Charles and Tony sucked me in pretty quickly, having experienced something similar though with a very different ending. Two sons, one coddled and favored, the other seemingly cast aside, because the special needs of the one outweighed all others. But were the needs genuine? Therein lies the mystery.

It was interesting to watch two versions of a story unfolding in real-time — Charles’ version and Tony’s version — all the while calculating where the truth settled, and what Charles’ true diagnosis might be.

I confess I was totally wrong on the diagnosis, and I did not peg the ending. There are so many directions this story could go, I expect most readers will interpret an outcome based on their own experiences.

Curiously, the ending can be interpreted in two ways depending on whose version you were rooting for. Thus this tale has the unusual outcome of offering a happy ending to some, and an unhappy ending to others.

The psychic was a bright spot, as was the mysterious accident, which provided a fun little mystery to follow. Book_marketing2-lrg

Christoph did an amazing job in presenting how two wildly different viewpoints can perceive events so radically differently. It makes you wonder how often people “hear a different song” than those around them.

An interesting presentation.

— Sharon Delarose

4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, December 16, 2014
 
Very well written and detailed. Fischer doesn’t come across as promoting awareness of mental health (that’s what I thought it was going to be) but he does show, through his characters, the uphill struggle of a sufferer and other people’s prejudices.
My first impression was that Charles and Tony reminded me of Rainman. However, I changed this view as the story progressed.
He handles the complexity of his characters beautifully. We all, as humans, have flaws and Fischer makes us realise this. If anyone who reads this has a ‘judgemental’ trait I hope it teaches them compassion.
I’m also pretty sure that anyone who reads Conditions will be able to empathise with one of the characters.
 

4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tale marred by typos, 17 Dec 2014

By
Jay Howard “Cirrus” (Somerset, England) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
 
Verified Purchase(What is this?PhotoFunia-1406374f
This review is from: Conditions (Kindle Edition)
This story grabbed my interest from the start. There is an excellent cast of mostly well portrayed characters, and good pacing kept me guessing about them. I was persuaded to think deeply about these people and about our own tendency towards pigeon-holing, often based on misconceptions and prejudice. We are all guilty of it to some extent and it is good to be reminded in a non-judgmental way that we should care more for each other, whatever our faults.

I mentally removed a half star from the rating for several reasons. The book is about two brothers but we spend relatively little time with Tony so don’t really get to know him before he starts seeing Charles in a different light. Tony’s wife, Clare, is very one dimensional, which could have been avoided if we’d spent more time with the couple. I also felt the story was incomplete as the two brothers did not actually make the promised reconciliation, or even start on that process. It would perhaps benefit from another chapter in which they sit down together and start getting to know each other properly. Throughout the book I felt this lack of balance between the two brothers’ stories; whilst I realise the whole situation is generated by Charles’ problems, it reaches this point because of Tony’s abiding feelings of anger and rejection that he has carried since childhood. Overall, though, I had to round the rating up rather than down. Charles is a fascinating character, both difficult and rewarding to have as a friend. This story gives a good insight into what it means to have this kind of mental health issue. It was lovely to see him gradually revealed as someone with a strong moral compass.

Conditions

When Charles and Tony’s mother dies the estranged brothers must struggle to pick up the pieces, particularly so given that one of them is mentally challenged and the other bitter about his place within the family.
The conflict is drawn out over materialistic issues, but there are other underlying problems which go to the heart of what it means to be part of a family which, in one way or another. has cast one aside.
Prejudice, misconceptions and the human condition in all forms feature in this contemporary drama revolving around a group of people who attend the subsequent funeral at the British South Coast.
Meet flamboyant gardener Charles, loner Simon, selfless psychic Elaine, narcissistic body-builder Edgar, Martha and her version of unconditional love and many others as they try to deal with the event and its aftermath.

On Facebook: http://ow.ly/C0ZqX

On Amazon: http://smarturl.it/CONDITIONSCFF

On Goodreads: http://ow.ly/C0Ziw

The Healer


When advertising executive Erica Whittaker is diagnosed with terminal cancer, western medicine fails her. The only hope left for her to survive is controversial healer Arpan. She locates the man whose touch could heal her but finds he has retired from the limelight and refuses to treat her.  Erica, consumed by stage four pancreatic cancer, is desperate and desperate people are no longer logical nor are they willing to take no for an answer. Arpan has retired for good reasons, casting more than the shadow of a doubt over his abilities. So begins a journey that will challenge them both as the past threatens to catch up with him as much as with her.  Can he really heal her? Can she trust him with her life? And will they both achieve what they set out to do before running out of time?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheHealerNovelbyChristophFischer?ref=hl


Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23662030-the-healer


Amazon:
http://smarturl.it/thehealerthriller

Short Biography:

Christoph Fischer was born in Germany, near the Austrian border, as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. Not a full local in the eyes and ears of his peers he developed an ambiguous sense of belonging and home in Bavaria. He moved to Hamburg in pursuit of his studies and to lead a life of literary indulgence. After a few years he moved on to the UK where he now lives in a small hamlet, not far from Bath.  He and his partner have three Labradoodles to complete their family.

Christoph worked for the British Film Institute, in Libraries, Museums and for an airline. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ was published in November 2012; ‘Sebastian’ in May 2013 and The Black Eagle Inn in October 2013. “Time To Let Go” , his first contemporary work was published in May 2014, and “Conditions” in October 2014. He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

Website: http://www.christophfischerbooks.com/

Blog: http://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6590171.Christoph_Fischer

Amazon: http://ow.ly/BtveY

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CFFBooks

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/christophffisch/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106213860775307052243

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=241333846

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

All Facebook links:

http://www.facebook.com/WriterChristophFischer?ref=hl

http://www.facebook.com/TheLuckOfTheWeissensteiners?ref=hl

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sebastian/489427467776001?ref=hl

http://www.facebook.com/TheBlackEagleInn?ref=hl

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Time-To-Let-Go/257989361049799?ref=hl

written by
Christoph Fischer was born in Germany in 1970 as the son of a Sudeten-German father and a Bavarian mother. ‘The Luck of The Weissensteiners’ is his first published work. He has written several other novels which are in the later stages of editing and finalisation.

4 Responses to “50 Reviews for Conditions – THANK YOU!”

  1. Chris Rose says:

    The idea that you already have 50 reviews for ‘Conditions’ says more about the book than what the (wonderful) reviews tell us.

    Congratulations on an amazing 2014, and may 2015 be even better (if possible) 🙂

    Nice one, Christoph 🙂

  2. Debbie White says:

    Great news. Congrats! It’s always nice to get to the 50th of anything!! Hope your 2015 will be as brighter, or brighter.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: